During the Honda Classic, on hole # 17, VJ sent his ball over the penalty zone marked in yellow and the ball hit the ground over the yellow line and came back in the penalty area. I received many comments on why he dropped a ball on the Green side.
The ball hit the group in the general area near the green before entering the penalty area near that part of the hole.
When the point of entry is established, the player may drop a ball on the extension of a line between the flagstick and the point of entry. Usually, the extension of the line is near the original stroke or the tee on this hole because when we take an extension of the line between the flagstick and the point of entry, we must carry a large body of water.
Why did VJ drop a ball on the green side?
On the picture, we see the flag on the left side of the green and Singh’s ball entered on the left side. The extension of a line starting from the flagstick going to the point of entry (caddie’s foot) gives the player some room to drop a ball on that side.
Is there a change in 2019?
Yes and a very important one. In the past years, a player had to drop a ball on the extension of the line. The new rule gives the player one club length on either side of that line.
What about the wires in the penalty zone?
Those wires are there to control the movement of the ducks. They are considered immovable obstruction and the player does not have a free relief if the ball lies in the penalty area. He would have received a free relief after the drop if the wires would have interfered with his position or swing.
A regarder et ensuite vous pouvez poser vos questions
Posted by Edouard Rivard on Monday, March 4, 2019
A Drop Zone was visible on the front tee. We must always remember that a Drop Zone is almost always an additional option.