-A You hit your ball toward a green and it is a blind shot. You are not certain of the result so you hit a provisional ball. Arriving near the green, we can’t find the original ball, and you continue the play of the hole with the provisional. 6 minutes later and after making 4 strokes at the provisional, you find the original ball in the hole…
When the ball is in the hole the hole is completed. Everything that could have happened with the provisional ball does not count.
-B Your ball lies in the woods, you make a stroke and the ball disappears, you don’t have any idea where the ball went, it may be embedded in the ground or elsewhere and you can’t find it.
You must drop a ball the closest as possible to where the ball was before the stroke , counting a penalty stroke (stroke and distance). You may not return to the tee…
-C Your ball lies on dry ground in a water hazard. You make the stroke, the ball moves a few feet. You try again and the ball goes in deep water, lost…
All the strokes must be counted and you don’t lose all the options that were available for a ball in a water hazard. it means you may play a ball outside the hazard.
-D You are searching for your ball. After 3 minutes you tell everybody to stop the search, you declare the ball lost and you go back at the tee. Before hitting the shot someone waves to you saying they found a ball. 4 minutes 50 seconds has elapsed and it will take you 30 seconds to go and identify if it is your ball…
A ball is not lost because you said it was lost. The ball is lost in the following examples:
-I you have put a ball in play (a ball put on a tee is not in play yet).
-ii you played a stroke at your provisional ball at a spot nearer the hole than the estimated area of where the original ball may be.
-iii more than 5 minutes has elapsed in searching for the ball.
-1 Eddy hits his tee shot in the woods, he plays a second ball (provisional)
-2 He searches for 6 minutes and finds his original ball
-3 He picks up the provisional ball and plays his original ball on the green
-4 He makes 2 putts, reaches the next tee and tells his fellow-competitor that he made a 4
-5 The co-competitor suggest that he goes back to the spot where he picked up the provisional
-6 Eddy goes back, and puts back in play his provisional ball
-7 He sends the provisional on the green and makes 2 putts
Before signing his scorecard, Eddy tells a rules official he completed a hole with 2 balls.
WHAT IS THE DECISION AND WHAT SCORE WILL EDDY HAVE ON THAT HOLE?