Since January 1st, 2019, two changes regarding the drop of a ball is in effect. A few rules are also in effect concerning when we must drop or place a ball, this will be covered in a future article.
* The drop was made from shoulder height
* After the ball had touched the ground, the ball could roll up to two club-length and still be in play
* The player must drop a ball at knee height. If the player makes his drop at shoulder height and plays the ball, the penalty may be one or two strokes depending where the ball would be played.
* The dropped ball must hit the ground inside the correct relief area and must also be played from inside that zone. The dropped ball must not roll outside the relief area.
Many players on the PGA Tour are afraid of being penalized if they drop from shoulder height, because they had done that for so many years, while this is not an advantage. Some players would have liked to get rid of the drop and have any ball placed all the time.
During the last tournament in Palm Springs, Phil Mickelson dropped a ball from shoulder height. A rules official was close to Phil and told him to redrop the ball correctly. If Phil had played the ball that was dropped from shoulder height, he would have been penalized one stroke. Because he corrected, he did not get any penalty
HITTING THE BALL TWICE
A lot of people saw on social media, golfers hitting on purpose a golf ball twice to get away from a bad position. During the HSBC tournament in Abu Dhabi, many pros tried to do it.
If you are tempted to do it in tournament play, you will receive a penalty of 2 strokes. The new rule covers hitting the ball twice by ACCIDENT.