During the Florida State Mid Am (25 years old +) Match Play Championship, Marc Dull was playing against Jeff Golden.
At the 9th hole, Golden asks Dull if he could repair something in front of the hole. Dull’s caddie told him: It does not matter because in order to make your putt you must go around that defect….Golden made a claim that Dull’s caddie gave an advice and the referee accepted the claim.
Play was suspended on the 17th hole because of bad weather. While Golden went to his car to get dry clothes, Dull’s caddie gave him a sucker punch in the face.
Play was resumed after 2 hours but Golden did not want to go back to the course that day. It was not possible so he conceded the match to Dull.
A few days later he asked the Committee to refuse the concession. The Committee told him a concession can’t be retracted the minute it is made…
ANSWER TO LAST WEEK’S QUIZ
ANOTHER INTERESTING RULING
-1 Eddy sends his tee shot in the woods and decides to play a provisional ball, it goes in the middle of the fairway.
-2 Eddy finds his original ball in an unplayable position, he picks up the ball stating it is unplayable.
-3 Eddy goes and play the provisional.
-4 On the green he makes 2 putts but he wonders if he did everything the proper way?
Is the result of 6 ok? If not what would be his options?
Here are basic principles that we must understand:
-I When the original ball is found, the provisional ball is out of play.
-ii By playing his provisional ball, Eddy played a wrong ball (2-stroke penalty), he must correct and the strokes made with the wrong ball don’t count, he must go back.
-iii When Eddy returns to the area, he still has all the options for an unplayable ball. (go back to the tee, 2 club-length, on a line with the flag).
He will be playing his 5th shot.
NOTE: No additional penalty for picking up his original ball because he had declared the ball unplayable
In the previous question, if Eddy would have dropped a ball 4 club length instead of 2, sending the ball on the green and making 2 putts?
Also in the same event, if he had toss his original ball into the woods with his hands and had substituted a new ball?
And to complete the case, Eddy played a stroke on the next tee.
What is his score or what are his options?