During the Hero World Challenge in the Bahamas a few weeks ago, Tiger Woods had another encounter with the rules. Three rules were involved in that decision.
Rule 14-1a: Fairly Striking the Ball
The ball must be fairly struck at with the head of the club and must not be pushed, scraped or spooned.
Rule 14-4: STRIKING THE BALL MORE THAN ONCE (not in effect in 2019)
If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player must count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.
DECISION 18/4: Television Evidence…
… if a breach is only detectable from slow motion…….the player will not be penalized. (edited)
The facts: Tiger’s ball lies under a bush. The only way to make a stroke at the ball is to position the clubhead a few inches from the ball and try to make a stroke on the ball. He played the shot and the ball ended up at least 30 yards down a hill.
- Did Tiger strike the ball two times?
- Did Tiger pushed, scraped or spooned?
It was decided that Tiger hit the ball twice but because it was only visible on a slow-motion video, Tiger did not get any penalty. The second question never came up to the Rules Committee!
My comment: Have a look at the video evidence and tell me if you think Tiger pushed the ball. And is it possible to do that without knowledge from the player?
I also want to take the time to wish you a great holiday season.