A short break on my questions is necessary in order to talk about the incident that occurred at the Great Abbaco Classic on the Web.com. Because of the incident, the caddie was fired.
BEFORE, I WILL GIVE YOU THE RULING ON HOLE # 4.
The number of strokes is 4
No penalty for playing the original ball
2 strokes penalty for not replacing the ball that was moved.
total 4 + 2 = 6
January 24th, on the last round and last hole of the competition, Rhein Gibson needed a birdie to tie for the lead and a par to complete the competition T-2. He sent his ball in the hazard near the green. After a search of few minutes the caddie found the ball in a very bad position in the hazard and picked up the ball. The official penalised the player one stroke because the caddie picked up the ball, Gibson made a bogey 6 and finished in third position loosing 12 000 $. At that moment, Gibson fired the caddie.
While searching, the caddie finds the ball between 2 rocks in an impossible lie. It is obvious the player will not play the ball in that lie. He informs Gibson and the player turns around to go at his bag, the caddie picks up the ball. On social media, the caddie argues the Decision 26-1\9 permits the caddie to pick up the ball when it is obvious the player will not play the ball where it lies.
Version of the official
Many people were searching for the ball.. The caddie picks up the ball and shows it to the player. Gibson says: Now I can’t play it….. At that moment it was obvious to the rules official, that the player did not see the lie of the ball before it was picked up.
Rule of golf
A player is responsible for the action of his caddie. A caddie can’t decide if a ball will not be played, this is the responsibility of the player.
Feel free to give me all of your comments