To continue from last week, John scored a 2 on the first hole and is now on the 2nd hole.
John hits his drive on the second hole and, then, realizes he has 15 clubs in his bag.
-The penalty for carrying more than 14 clubs is 2 strokes per hole. He hit his tee shot on the 2nd hole before realizing he had too many clubs. He must add a 2-stroke penalty to his score on the 1st hole and he must add another 2 strokes to his score on the 2nd hole.
-The maximum penalty per round is 4 strokes in stroke play.
He declares his extra club out-of-play and continues to carry it in his bag.
-John proceeded correctly in declaring his extra club out-of-play. The Rules permit him to continue carrying the extra club in his bag for the rest of the round.
-Note: If John forgets to remove the extra club and begins another round with it, he will be penalized again.
In finding his ball in the woods, he hits it and, at the same time, hits a tree in anger, damaging his club.
He uses the damaged club for his next shot and lands on the fringe of the green.
-According to the new rules, if a player damages a club, no matter what the circumstances, he/she may continue to use the club to the end of the round.
In putting, the ball goes past the hole and hits his bag that is lying on the fringe on the other side.
-According to the new rules, if a player hits himself or his equipment with his ball, there is no penalty and the ball is played as it lies.
-Note: If John had deliberately placed his bag in order to stop the ball, the penalty would be 2 strokes in stroke play.
He holes out his next putt. What is his score for the 2nd hole?
-He took 5 strokes at the ball and must add the 2-stroke penalty for carrying the extra club.
Case 1: 2 strokes + 2 penalty strokes = score of 4
Case 2: 5 strokes + 2 penalty strokes = score of 7