If during the round, a caddie is in breach of a rule, the player will be penalised. Here are a few answers and explanations:
A competitor may change caddie a few times in a round
TRUE: A player may change his caddie during the round. It must not be done temporarily only in order to gather a specific information. It is possible to have a caddie for the first five holes and switch for another caddie anytime in the round. It is also possible to go back to your original caddie if you wish.
A caddie is allowed to put a bag and clubs on the ground of a hazard
TRUE: There is no penalty if a bag or clubs are put on the ground of a hazard (bunker or water hazard).
A caddie can’t mark the players ball
FALSE: Without the consent of his player, a caddie is allowed to mark the ball. But he needs to have the authorisation from his player to lift the ball.
A caddie can remove a towel from another players bag in order to see the club selection a the condition of putting the towel back in place
FALSE: If a caddie wants to see what club the other players used, he must not touch anything. He may move and look at the bag. Also he is not allowed to ask what club was used.
A player may use a caddie to carry his clubs and someone else to read his putts
FALSE: A player must not have two caddies at the same time. A person carrying a golf bag is a caddie and someone reading the putts is also a caddie. When caddie are not permitted like in junior events, if a parent gives advice to a player, the competitor will receive a 2-stroke penalty.
A player may have someone to carry his clubs and have someone else carry his umbrella
TRUE: An umbrella, rain gear or the lunch box may be carried by a person and he or she will not be considered a caddie. We see that often in junior tournaments.
A caddie can put the player’s ball on a tee
TRUE: a caddie is allowed to put the ball on a tee, he is also allowed to pick up the ball from the hole.
NEXT QUESTIONS WILL BE ANSWERED NEXT WEEK.