5.1 After finishing his first round, a player goes on the golf course to plays a few holes. The second round is scheduled for tomorrow. What is the decision?
Under Rule 5.2b, A player may practise on the course after completing play of his or her FINAL round for that day. It is only when a Local Rule is in effect that the Committee may prohibit practise between rounds.
If a round is suspended until the next day, it is not possible to practise on the course between the two days.
5.2 The player is on the tee on time but with only a putter and a ball. The first hole is a Par 5 with water in front of the tee. What is the decision?
Interpretation 5.3a/3 states that a player will be considered ready to play as long as he has a club and a ball in his hands. A referee does not have the right to determine if it is reasonable or not to drive with a putter. But if it is the player’s turn to play and he waits for his caddie to bring him his driver, he is subject to a penalty under Rule 5.6a (UNREASONABLE DELAY).
5.3 In a match Play, Player A arrives at the tee 2 minutes late and Player B arrives 4 minutes late. What is the status of the Match?
Most of the time, when a general penalty is given to both players in a Match Play, the first player in breach will lose that hole. But when players are late for their tee time and both players are late in less than 5 minutes, both players lose the first hole and they should go and play the second hole. But if one player arrives 6 minutes after the tee time, he will be disqualified from the competition.
5.4 Play is suspended for darkness. Play will resume at 08H00 tomorrow. 3 groups are on a tee. A player from the last group to start (approximately 08H18, hits a few drives between 08H00 and 08H05 because the range is very close to the tee.
At the time set for resuming play, all the players must follow the same rules. Practise must stop at that time even if you know you will play 15 minutes later.
QUESTIONS FOR NEXT WEEK
RULE 6 – PLAYING A HOLE
6.1 A player makes a stroke from the teeing area. The ball hits a tree and comes back in the same teeing area. The payer picks up the ball, puts it on a tee and makes another stroke. Was that his second or third stroke?
6.2 In playing a provisional ball, the caddie is standing behind the player. A few minutes later, the original ball is found and played. What is the penalty?
6.3 A player sends his original ball on the right side of the fairway in a wooden area. He hits a provisional ball in front of the tee. As permitted by the Rules, he makes another shot at the provisional before going to search his original ball. A few minutes later he finds his original ball and plays it. What is the decision?