In the next weeks, I will give you more information on the important rules changes that will be in effect on January 1, 2019.
Because the material is available in English from Golf Canada, the United States Golf Association (USGA) and the Royal and Ancient (Randa) I will copy the exact text available. Feel free to ask any question on those topics and I will do my best to answer you.
Ball Accidentally Struck Multiple Times During Stroke
If a player accidentally strikes his or her ball two or more times when making a single stroke:
The player gets a one-stroke penalty in addition to the stroke that was made, regardless of the number of times the ball is struck.
The ball is played as it lies.
Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke:
There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.
If the player deliberately strikes the ball more than once while it is in motion, in addition to counting the stroke, he or she will also get the general penalty under Rule 11.3 for deliberately deflecting a ball in motion.
Reasons for Change:
Where a double hit occurs as part of a single stroke and was not the intention of the player, it was felt unfair and unnecessary for the player to be penalized.
Just as there is no penalty if a player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, equipment or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player accidentally strikes his or her own ball in making a stroke.
Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident.
When a player’s club accidentally strikes his or her ball multiple times it usually results in the ball going somewhere that the player did not intend for it to go.
The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.
Treating all accidental deflections the same no matter who or what caused them will simplify the Rules by providing consistency.