Last week , I asked you a few questions and these are the answers:
Eddy plays against Jack. Eddy tees his ball 2 feet in front of the markers (wrong place) and sends his ball Out of Bounds. At that moment Jack does not ask Eddy to replay his stroke.
In Match Play a player may play outside the tee-markers without penalty is his opponent accepts the situation. The opponent may accept or refuse the result. If the player is asked to replay it will be done without penalty.
Under Stroke and Distance, Eddy puts another ball on a tee between the proper tee blocks and sends his ball in the fairway. He has played his third stroke.
When a player played on the wrong tee and is not required by his opponent to replay his stroke and if the ball is lost or Out of Bounds, the player must drop another ball at the nearest point where the original ball was played. He may not put that ball on a tee.
Then, right after Eddy’s stroke, Jack tells Eddy that he has lost the hole for playing from the wrong place!!!! Eddy makes a claim and asks for a decision from an official.
Because Jack knew the Rule, he was correct to tell Eddy that he played from a wrong place and in Match Play it is loss of the hole.
A FEW QUESTIONS ON CADDIES
July is a very busy month for tournaments and many of the competitors use caddies. Here are a few statements and you most find if they are True or False.
- A competitor may change caddie a few times in a round.
- A caddie is allowed to put a bag and clubs on the ground of a hazard.
- A caddie can’t mark the players ball.
- A caddie can remove a towel from another players bag in order to see the club selection a the condition of putting the towel back in place.
- A player may use a caddie to carry his club and someone else to read his putts.
- A player may have someone to carry his clubs and have someone else carry his umbrella.
- A caddie can put the players ball on a tee.
- A player is allowed to use as a caddie someone that played the same round in the morning.
- One caddie may be uses by two different players at the same time in the same grouping.
- A caddie can’t play the course in the morning if he is a caddie for a player competing in the afternoon.
- Before the start of the round a caddie gives advice to many other players.
- In an Interclub or Intersectional event, the Committee may ask the caddie not to go on the greens.
- A committee may decide to prohibit the use of a coach or professional as a caddie in an amateur event.
- A committee may prohibit the use of a caddies not only in junior events.