A few weeks ago I asked you the following question :
Eddy sends his ball Out of Bounds. He puts another ball in play on the tee playing his third stroke. He sends his next shot on the green and makes 2 putts for a score of 6.
Before playing from the next tee, his fellow-competitor tells him he played from outside the tee box with his second ball.
What is the ruling?
The obvious answer is add the 2 strokes penalty for having played from the wrong tee for a result of 6 + 2 = 8.
But we had to ask ourselves the following question: Must Eddy go back to the tee and restart the hole playing from the right tees?
The obligation to replay the shot from the proper tees is only WHEN STARTING A HOLE. When Eddy played Stroke and Distance he was not starting the hole. He incurred a penalty of 2 strokes for playing from the wrong place but he does not replay his stroke.
In Match Play, if a player plays from outside the teeing ground, there is no penalty but the opponent may ask that the opponent replays his stroke.
INTERESTING SITUATION (It is a huge trap……)
Eddy plays against Jack. Eddy tees his ball 2 feet in front of the markers (wrong place) and sends his ball Out of Bounds. At that moment Jack does not ask Eddy to replay his stroke.
Under Stroke and Distance, Eddy puts another ball on a tee between the proper tee blocks and sends his ball in the fairway. He has played his third stroke.
Then, right after Eddy’s stroke, Jack tells Eddy that he has lost the hole for playing from the wrong place!!!! Eddy makes a claim and asks for a decision from an official.
What is the decision?