We saw last week that a 2 strokes penalty in Stroke Play becomes a loss of hole in Match Play. Other penalties are applied differently:
My ball hits my opponent or a competitor
In Stroke Play, if my ball hits a competitor, there is no penalty and the ball must be played where it lies. In Match Play, if my ball hits an opponent, I may play the ball where it lies OR replay my stroke without penalty.
I accidently move my opponent’s or competitor’s ball
In Stroke Play, if I accidently move a competitor’s ball, there is no penalty and the competitor must replace the ball. In Match Play there is a 1-stroke penalty if the moving of the ball was not while I was searching his ball. The opponent must replace the ball.
I move my ball
In the 2 types of competition, the penalty is 1 stroke and the ball must be replaced. If I don’t replace the ball it is a total penalty of 2 strokes and in Match Play I lose the hole.
In some cases, a breach may result in Disqualification from the tournament. If a play a wrong ball and I don’t correct it before hitting from the next tee, I am Disqualified from the tournament while in Match Play, I lose the hole the minute I played the wrong ball.
Arriving late at the first hole
In Stroke Play, a player that is not ready to play on time will receive a penalty of 2 strokes if he is ready within 5 minutes. Later than that he will be Disqualified. In Match Play if my opponent is ready to play and I am late, I lose the first hole and if I arrive 6 minutes after my tee time, I lose the Match.
My opponent is 2 minutes late and I am 4 minutes late. What is the ruling? I will wait for your rulings.
We will see in a later article the consequences of penalties in team competitions