The original rule was written as follow :
If your Ball comes among watter, or any wattery filth, you are at liberty to take out your Ball & bringing it behind the hazard and Teeing it, you may play it with any Club and allow your Adversary a Stroke for so getting out your Ball.
as written back in 1744
The game of golf was always played in Match Play in those days and it was possible to tee the ball when taking relief from the water hazard. But the only option was to tee the ball behind the hazard. Also instead of a penalty the opponent deducted a stroke from his score.
Things to remember in 2017:
- If we don’t find our ball, in order to use the options for a ball in a water hazard it must be known or virtually certain that the ball is in the hazard. If not, the only option is to go back where the last stroke was played.
- With a One stroke penalty:
- Proceed under the stroke and distance and return where the last stroke was played
- Drop a ball behind the hazard keeping the point at which the original ball last cross the margin and the hole
- As an additional option only if it is a lateral water hazard (red stakes or line): less than 2 club-length from the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard
- When the ball lies in a water hazard, it is not permitted to: (2 strokes) in Stroke Play or loss of hole in Match Play
- Remove any loose impediments
- Ground the club
- Touch the water with the club in the backswing
- Touch any loose impediment with the backswing