Two weeks ago, Lee Ann Walker was assessed 58 stokes in penalties because her caddie was standing astride in 29 of her last strokes during the first two rounds of the LPGA PGA Senior championship.
A caddie is not allowed to deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the player’s ball when the player begins taking a stance for the stroke and until the stroke is made….
For more information please see: https://www.foxnews.com/sports/lpga-golfer-penalty-strokes-new-rule
o When a caddie offers to work for a player, he must know the basic rules relating to his job
o It is surprising to see that it took 25 holes for the two other caddies and players to see the breach of the Rules!
Why did Walker did not receive a Disqualification penalty after returning a wrong score card after the first round?
– The Rule: If one or more of the player’s hole scores are lower than the actual scores because he or she excluded one or more penalty strokes that the player did not know about before returning the scorecard : THE PLAYER IS NOT DISQUALIFIED