• Nous joindre

Golf Martial Lapointe

  • Accueil
  • À propos
  • Catégories
    • Actualités
    • Compétition
    • Chroniques
    • Les règles selon Édouard
    • Ce qu’en pense Ray
    • Chroniques La relève
    • Chroniques Truc du pro
    • Chroniques Vie de club
    • Destinations
    • Équipement
    • Floride
    • Le physio et vous
    • Montreal
    • Non classé
    • Parcours
    • Portraits
    • Potinage
    • Québec
    • Réflexion
    • Autres Régions
    • Tournois et résultats
  • Archives
  • Galerie photos
    • Acteurs de 2014
      • ANPTG – Manoir Richelieu – Septembre 2019
    • Préposés au départ
    • Duc de Kent 2015 tout en images et en émotion!
    • Femmes à l’oeuvre…
    • Les ”birdies” de Steen
  • Publicités
  • Abonnez-vous
  • Contact
Tournois et résultats
  • PGA Tour: Hero World Challenge (du 4 au 7 décembre)   |   11 Oct 2019

  • Champions Tour: 2020 PGA TOUR Champions Qualifying Tournament-Final Stage (du 3 au 6 décembre)   |   20 Sep 2019

  • LPGA: CME Group Tour Championship (du 21 au 24 novembre)   |   09 Sep 2019

 
Vous êtes ici :Accueil»Les règles selon Édouard»Lexi Thompson and the score card: 2 strokes penalty or disqualification?

Lexi Thompson and the score card: 2 strokes penalty or disqualification?

Édouard Rivard 16 Avr 2017 Les règles selon Édouard Laisser un commentaire

In the last 2 weeks we heard so many comments around the incident involving Lexi Thomson at the ANA Championship in Palm Springs. Most of the golfers did not agree that a spectator can call a penalty on a player the day after the fact. I did not receive many comments on any conscience matter….

This week I will explain the 2 rules that were invoked in this incident.

SCORE CARD (Rule 6-6d)

If a competitor returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken due to failure to include one or more penalty strokes that, before returning his score card, he did not know he had incurred, he is not disqualified. In such circumstances, the competitor incurs the penalty prescribed by the applicable Rule and an additional penalty of two strokes for each hole at which the competitor has committed a breach of Rule 6-6d

This rule should be used only when the player was not aware of the breach. All the players know that when you mark your ball on the green, you must replace it in the same spot. As an example, if a player take out a white stake and he does not know it is illegal, he will not be disqualified, we will give him the 2 strokes penalty for removing a white stake + a 2 strokes penalty for returning a wrong score card if the breach is known after the card was signed. It is possible not to be disqualified if you did not know the rule. If you don’t put your ball in the hole and this fact if found out the next day, you will be disqualified because the Committee will not accept that you did not know this rule.

LexiThompsonGolfMovePutt-1021x580
Click on…

MARKING THE BALL AND REPLACING IT

If we use a tee or a coin, it is always possible to replace the ball at the exact spot with very little margin of error. When we look at the video, we can see clearly that Lexi replaced her ball in a different spot. This exceeds the normal margin of error.

WRONG SCORE CARD

I don’t have any problem to give the benefit of the doubt to a player who did not know it is not permitted to remove a leaf in a bunker or a white stake.. But is it reasonable to accept that a player did not know that he must replace the ball at the same place?

Rule 6-6d gives a chance to the player to receive a 2 stroke penalty instead of a disqualification if he or she was ignorant of the rule. Is it reasonable to accept that Lexi did not know it because she was so focused on her game?

For that reason I think she should have been disqualified for signing and returning a wrong score card.

Your comments will be read will a lot of curiosity. I have read many comments from around the world and it should not be a surprise for you to know that the comments from Europe are the opposite from the ones from the US…

 

Partagez cet article
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
2017-04-16
Édouard Rivard

Auteurs

Édouard Rivard
Auteur de l'article : Édouard Rivard
Arbitre sur plusieurs organisations de golf professionnelles ainsi qu’à Golf Québec et Golf Canada. De plus, Edouard est formateur sur les règles de golf. Vous pouvez toujours communiquer avec Edouard à edouard.rivard@videotron.ca
Article précédent :

Max Gilbert: «Je ne vis que pour les tournois!»

Article suivant :

Serge Ginchereau à Berthier et B2Golf à La Faune

Articles connexes

Un cadet fait perdre 98 000$ à son joueur

Un cadet fait perdre 98 000$ à son joueur

Édouard Rivard 30 Jan 2019
Résumé des nouvelles règles

Résumé des nouvelles règles

Édouard Rivard 14 Mar 2018
Que s’est-il passé avec le dégagement accordé à Vijai?

Que s’est-il passé avec le dégagement accordé à Vijai?

Édouard Rivard 06 Mar 2019

Laisser un commentaire Annuler la réponse

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Les casse-têtes Jacarou

Infolettre

Abonnez-vous pour être notifié de la mise en ligne de nouveaux articles

* Requis

Catégories

  • Actualités
  • Autres Régions
  • Ce qu’en pense Ray
  • Chroniques
  • Chroniques La relève
  • Chroniques Truc du pro
  • Chroniques Vie de club
  • Compétition
  • Destinations
  • Équipement
  • Floride
  • Le physio et vous
  • Les règles selon Édouard
  • Montreal
  • Non classé
  • Parcours
  • Portraits
  • Potinage
  • Québec
  • Réflexion
  • Tournois et résultats
  • Toutes les régions

Articles récents

  • En Floride: bâton brisé, bâton vite réparé
  • Disqualifié pour avoir cherché sa balle trop longtemps
  • L’esprit de compétition
  • Le club de Saint-Georges a su se relever
  • Trois points à surveiller lorsqu’on regarde les pros à la télé
Copyright © 2018 Golf Martial Lapointe. Tous droits réservés. Droits d'auteur Martial Lapointe | NOUS JOINDRE
Toute reproduction de ce texte doit recevoir l'approbation de l'auteur.