Player ask me often questions on that Rule. This week, in Las Vegas, MSOP is organizing a World championship of putting. Players from everywhere in the World are here this week. They are competing for a total purse of 250 000$. Many European mini putt champions will also play against pro golfers.
A ball was moved on the green: Is there a penalty?
1. For whatever the reason, if the player does it the right way, there is no penalty.
2. If the player does not play his next stroke from the right place, he will get a penalty of two strokes.
THE BALLE MUST BE REPLACED:
1. The player accidently moved the ball (practice swing, marking or falling on the ball)
2. Ball moved by another person or animal
3. Ball moved by another ball in motion
THE BALL MUST BE PLAYED WHERE IT LIES:
1. Ball moved by wind, water or gravity
When the ball had been previously marked, lifted and replaced, it will always be replaced even if it was moved by a natural force.
Some players don’t know the Rules and they come to ask me what to do and sometimes it is too late. If a player played his next stroke from the wrong place, he gets a penalty of two strokes. This happens often when the ball moved after having been put back into play at the ball marker and the player makes his next stroke from the new spot.
When a ball moved on a green, a player should always, when possible, ask a ruling from the Committee. The player will never be penalized even if the referee makes a mistake.