12.1 The player’s ball lies in a bunker. He makes a stroke and the ball goes Out of Bounds. Can the player rake the area before dropping another ball?
ANSWER 12.1: Yes, when the ball is out of the bunker after a stroke, the player is allowed to smooth the area without condition. Even if he knows he will have to drop a ball in that area.
12.2 The player’s ball lies in sand that was rejected from the bunker. Is the ball in the bunker?
ANSWER 12.2: No, the ball is not considered in the bunker. The player is allowed to ground lightly his club on the sand. He is not allowed to remove the sand.
12.3 Between my ball and the flag there is a bunker. I drop my club in the bunker, I retrieve my club and smooths the footprints. Do I have a penalty?
ANSWER 12.3: When the player worsened conditions affecting the stroke, in this case the line of play, he must not restore the worsened conditions before making his stroke. The penalty is 2 strokes.
12.4 A player makes a practice swing and touches the sand 3 times. What is the penalty?
ANSWER 12.4: When the ball lies in a bunker, we are not allowed to touch the sand when making a practice swing. The penalty is 2 strokes. If the player does it a few times consecutively, it is still only a penalty of 2 strokes.
12.5 Behind the ball, there is a little mound of sand, on his backswing, the player touches lightly the mound of sand. He does not stop his swing and make a stroke at the ball.
ANSWER 12.5: When taking his backswing, the player must not touch the sand. The penalty is 2 strokes.
COVID 19: Even if a local rule has the preferred lies rule in effect in bunkers, all the previous answers are the same
QUESTIONS ON RULE 13
13.1 Between the ball and the hole, we see some damages, can the player repair those damages like aeration holes, bare earth, diseased or uneven growth?
13.2 What about mowers tracks on the green, what are the player’s options?
13.3 In making a practice swing, the player moves his ball. What is the ruling?
13.4 The player has a short putt. He grabs the flag with one hand and make his putt holding his putter with the other hand.
13.5 The player’s ball is resting against the flagstick in the hole. The player picks up his ball. The ball never touched the bottom of the cup and the player makes his next stroke on the next hole. What is the ruling?
13.6 Because of Covid-19, players must keep the flag in the hole all the time. What are the options if the ball hits the flagstick and rebounds outside the hole?