7.1 In order to identify his ball, a player rotates it slightly without marking but the ball did not change position. What is the ruling?
A player is not penalized if he accidently touches his ball and the ball does not move. But if a player purposely touches his ball in play without marking it, he gets a one stroke penalty even if the ball did not change position.
7.2 In searching for his ball, a player accidentally moves his ball covered with leaves. He replaces the ball without replacing the leaves. How many penalty strokes?
Because the loose impediments are not part of the lie of the ball, the played does not need to put the leaves back on the ball.
7.3 A player sees his ball fall in a bunker. He searches with a rake and find it covered with sand. He replaces the ball without replacing the sand. What is the penalty?
It is a penalty of two strokes. This is considered part of the lie of the ball. There is no penalty for causing the ball to move because it was during the search. But the player must recreate the lie. He has the right to leave a small part of the ball visible.
7.4 The player sends his ball on the left side of the fairway. He finds his ball (proper brand and number). His opponent says it may not be his ball because he did not put any special markings on it (dots, lines, etc). What is the ruling?
Players should always put some identification marks on the ball. But without marking, if the player finds the ball and no other balls are found in the area, we may assume it is the player’s ball if it has the proper make and number.
QUESTIONS ON RULE 8
8.1 A player’s ball is 150 yards to the hole. Before making his stroke, the player repairs a divot 5 feet in front of the ball directly on his line of play. What is the ruling?
8.2 Before making a stoke at his ball in the woods, a player breaks a large branch on his practice swing near the ball. Because he is afraid of being penalized, he changes his direction of play. The broken branch was not anymore on his backswing. Does he still get a penalty?
8.3 Before entering a wooden area, a player wraps a towel around his waist, goes in the woods and makes a stroke on his ball with the towel still wrapped around him. How many penalty strokes?
8.4 The player takes relief by dropping a ball. The ball rolls into a bunker. He goes inside the bunker to retrieve the ball and smooths the sand with a rake. He drops again and makes the stroke over the bunker. Was the player allowed to smooth the sand?