In case 3, Diane made 5 strokes and she has to add 4 penalty strokes. We will see next week why the result is not 9.
IMPORTANT: If you haven’t had time to work on this case, go to the last issue, and try to determine the proper score without reading the solution below. This will be more beneficial in learning the appropriate rules.
Diane is on the tee. There is a branch that interferes with her swing, so she decides to break it off.
–When we are on the tee, even if our ball is not in play, it is forbidden to break off or prune branches attached to a tree or bush. The penalty is the general penalty (2 strokes or loss of hole).
-This penalty remains even if we move our ball to another place on the teeing ground. We cannot cancel this penalty once the violation has occurred.
In trying to hit her ball out of the woods, the ball hits her leg and deflects into the fairway.
–According to the new rules, there is no longer a penalty if, following our stroke, the ball hits us or part of our equipment. The ball, then, must be played from where it comes to rest.
She hits her ball and the ball hits her partner. The ball ends up on the green.
–The same rule as the preceding one applies. Her partner has the same status as she, the player, thus no penalty.
Diane putts her ball and accidentally hits her partner’s foot. The ball ends up 6 inches from the hole.
–Here is a specific case. (It is very rare that I cite a rule number, but this is an exception) Rule 11.1b, exception 2, stipulates that if a ball on the putting green hits a person, the stroke does not count, there is no penalty, and the player will putt, again, from the original spot.
Diane holes her putt with the back of her putter.
–Given that Diane should have placed her ball at the original spot, she committed a violation in continuing to putt out from an improper location and incurs the general penalty (2 strokes or loss of hole).
…see next week for a special outcome…..the score for the hole is not 9
-One may use the back of any club to hit a ball without penalty.