Two weeks ago at the Dubai Desert Classic, Haotong Li received a penalty of 2 strokes because of a breach from his caddie.
On the green, the caddie positions himself behind the ball to look at the line of putt. When the player starts to put himself in position to take his stance, the caddie goes on the side……but too late.
Once the player begins taking his stance for the stroke and until the stroke is made, the player’s caddie most not deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball…
The penalty is 2 strokes
This a new rule in effect since January 1st, 2019
Before that date it was possible to stay behind until the player made the stroke.
NO : If the mistake is done anywhere on the course except the green, the player can’t avoid receiving the penalty even if he backs up and redoes his routine.
YES : When this happens on the green, the player may restart again without penalty if the caddie is not behind the ball when the player does his routine again.
Li could have restarted his routine and he would not have received the penalty.
The penalty on the last round cost him 98 000$ US.
Don’t be shy to give your opinion on the matter.