Here are the answers to the last 3 cases.
1. Albert sends his ball near a tree
2. Albert hits his second stroke, but the ball hits the tree, the ball is deflected on his leg and ends Out of Bounds
3. He drops a ball near the spot of his previous stroke and sends the ball on the green
4. His next stroke goes into the hole
ANSWER: if after a stroke, the ball touches the player, anywhere except on the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played where it lies.
o In Case 1, the score is 4 strokes + 1 stroke penalty (Ball OB) = 5 stokes
1. Diane sends her ball on the green
2. She marks the ball, replaces it and a gust of wind moves the ball a few inches
3. Her last stroke, from the new position sends the ball in the hole
ANSWER: Usually when a ball is moved by a natural force (wind, gravity), the ball must be played where it lies. But on a green when the ball had been previously marked, lifted and replaced, we always have to replace the ball in its original spot even if it is moved by a natural force.
o In case 2, the score is 2 strokes + 2 penalty strokes (Wrong place) = 4 strokes
NOTE: If it is not a serious breach, the player does not have to correct the mistake.
1. Lucy sends her ball on the green about two feet from the hole
2. She makes her second stroke; the ball makes a horse shoe around the hole and is stopped by her left foot at 3 feet from the hole
3. She sends her last stroke in the hole.
ANSWER: When the ball played from the putting green accidentally hits any person, the stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot. The player made a stroke from the wrong place – a penalty of 2 strokes.
……A VERY RARE EVENT THAT GIVES A MULLIGAN TO THE PLAYER…..
o In this case, the score is 2 strokes + 2 strokes penalty = 4 strokes
JESPER PARNEVIK’S RULING
On October 12th 2019, Parnevik did not know the rule and was penalized 2 strokes in a Champions Tour event.