REMINDER : When play is suspended, we are not allowed to change the clubs chosen at the beginning of the stipulated round, even if play is resumed at a later date.
A- As soon as the player notices the breach, he must declare the club out of play.
B- the penalty is 2 strokes per hole played while the club was in his bag maximum 4 strokes.
C – If he make a stroke with the new putter, he is disqualified.
Ignorance of the rules
Contrary to the Criminal Code or the Traffic Laws, the penalty in golf may be different if we were ignorant of the Rules, in this case, the disqualification penalty would be waived.
IN DISCUSSIONS WITH MY FELLOW RULES OFFICIAL, WE ARE NOT ON THE SAME PAGE CONCERNING PLAYERS THAT HAVE A DISCUSSION ON THE ISSUE BUT THEY DON’T CONSULT AN OFFICIAL….CAN WE STILL CONSIDER IT IGNORANCE OF THE RULES? AND NOT BE DISQUALIFIED?
HOLE # 4
2- Eddy plays a provisional ball and sends it on the right side
3- After a search of 4 minutes, he finds both balls but both balls have the same number and same markings (big red circles)
4- He decides to play his original ball (on the left side) and sends it in the bunker
5- The ball lies against a rake, he does not mark the ball, picks up the rake and the ball moves
6- He does not replace the ball and hits it on the green
7- He next stroke puts the ball in the hole
8- He tells his marker he has a score of 4
9- In walking toward the 5th hole, the marker thinks Eddy made a mistake on his score. He also says that his drive should have been considered lost…so the score of 4 is a wrong score for that hole
What is the decision?