In Match Play, we all know that we can concede a putt to our opponent. Here are few examples of the application of this rule:
In this type of competition, 4 players are opponents to each other. It is possible for Player A to concede a putt to Player B but Player C and D may refuse to concede. In that case, even if Player B misses his putt it remains conceded from Player A.
STROKE PLAY – SUDDEN DEATH PLAYOFF
In Stroke Play when players go into a sudden death playoff, the rules of Stroke Play continue to be into effect. A player may not concede a putt to the other player but a player may concede the playoff.
As an example we had a pro tournament in Cap Rouge last week. 2 players were in a playoff. Player A sent 3 balls Out of Bounds. On the green, Player B had a putt for a 4 and Player A had a putt for a 9. Player A went to congratulate Player B. Players were not required to complete their putts.
MATCH PLAY IN A TEAM COMPETITION
A and B play against C and D in a Four Ball competition. D has a 10 foot putt for a 6 on the same line as his partner that is putting for a 4. if the opponent concedes D’s putt, Player D is not allowed to putt to give an idea of the line to his partner. After the hole is concluded, player D may make his practice putt.
MATCH PLAY – SINGLES
Before picking up our ball that is close to the hole, we must make sure the opponent is conceding the putt, we must never assume the putt is conceded. In the 2017 US Girls Match Play Championship in July 2017, a girl had a 9 foot putt to win the semi-finals. She did not make the putt and was left with a 6 inches putt. She picked up her ball assuming the putt was conceded. the referee did not see the opponent concede the putt so she concluded that the girl move her ball in play incurring a 1 stroke penalty losing the hole and the match. It was too late at that time for the opponent to concede the putt after the fact.
You will probably have many comments on that topic…